Being involved in a serious car accident can affect every aspect of your life. Not only will you be worried about your health and well-being, but you’ll also have to pay medical bills and receive treatment that may not be coved by insurance. During the recovery time, it’s common to feel frustrated by your inability to return to work, and you may be worried about how you will afford to pay your bills or get by financially.
This is why it is important to start thinking about making an insurance claim or a lawsuit as soon as you can after your accident. While you should prioritize your health and recovery, drivers should file a crash report that results in an injury, death or property damage to the value of $1000 or more within 10 days if the incident was not investigated by the police. If you want to gain back the damages that you deserve, make sure that you fully understand the laws that apply to your situation. The following is an overview of the car insurance laws in Texas.
Texas is a “fault” car insurance state
Texas is a “fault” car insurance state, meaning that it is possible to gain back damages from the driver who is deemed to be at fault for causing the accident in the form of an insurance claim or a lawsuit.
This is one of the reasons why it is important that you purchase liability insurance with adequate limits in Texas. Thisto pay extensive amounts in damages if you were found to be at fault.
Proving liability is crucial
Since Texas is a “fault” car insurance state, it is crucial that you are able to ensure that the fault is correctly attributed. Making sure that the maximum amount of information is gathered is one step in this process.
If you have been, take action so that you can gain the damages to which you are entitled.